How to use an CT1642 or SM1642 Led Driver with Key Scan. (Arduino Project)

George -

Joined Oct 28, 2015
Hello dear members,

after some months of lurking in the forum I have decided to post my first question.

Some background: I have recently "liberated" some Set Top Box front LED panels with buttons from Chinese manufactured STBs.
I would like to use one in one of my projects but I am not able to find any information or an example on how I would be able to do so.
Or more accurately, I cant really understand how to use it.
A problem is that that datasheet is in Chinese and also I have little experience with shift registers and key scan chips and not so great experience in interfacing ICs overall.

Hence my request for your help.

[STB Front Panel]
The STB Front panel looks like this:
IMG_20151027_133044.jpg

[IC]
The IC is the CT1642:
CT_1642_BoardPinout.png
I forgot to indicate c4 in the above picture (it is the only non-referenced pin).

[IC CT1642 PINOUT]
ct1642_pinout.jpg

[IC CT1642 Datasheet]
This is the Datasheet I have found online:
View attachment ct1642_data1.pdf
and the google translation:
View attachment ct1642_data1.pdf.Translate.txt

[CT1642 Patent]
and here is a relevant patent I have found also online:
http://www.google.com/patents/WO2013063811A1?cl=en

[Things I have tried so far]
So far, I have tried to use I2C [arduino Wire library] since I thought that it was using this protocol and I had managed to get a response by turning on some LEDs on the 7seg displays the first time.
Unfortunately I was not able to re-produce the result or have any control over the 7segs with any value I wrote to the slave. (Which I am not also sure if it has an address or not). I think that turning on the display was a lucky first strike.

Then I have tried to use the bit shift method [Arduino ShiftOut] to write 18bits (i think this is so weird! why 18?) as per the datasheet:
Code:
shiftOut(DATA_PIN, CLOCK_PIN, LSBFIRST, B11111111);