How to use a relay to turn a fan off and on when a 12v battery is plugged in

JaredNathaniel

Joined Mar 7, 2018
Backstory: I have a large table that i discharge multiple batteries on, when they are discharging they emit heat so I am looking for a way to push the hot air out from under the table.

What I am doing: I am looking to turn a cooling fan on that uses a 120v wall socket, but in the interest of saving energy I only want it to turn on whenever a battery is plugged in. The batteries are 12v, so I would like to use a relay that is triggered by that 12v to then turn the fan on. I need help in choosing what relay would be best for this and the circuit design for this. Sorry I am quite new to this so thank you in advance for any help.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Backstory: I have a large table that i discharge multiple batteries on, when they are discharging they emit heat so I am looking for a way to push the hot air out from under the table.

What I am doing: I am looking to turn a cooling fan on that uses a 120v wall socket, but in the interest of saving energy I only want it to turn on whenever a battery is plugged in. The batteries are 12v, so I would like to use a relay that is triggered by that 12v to then turn the fan on. I need help in choosing what relay would be best for this and the circuit design for this. Sorry I am quite new to this so thank you in advance for any help.
I've used a comparator (such as LM339, a quad comparator IC) to detect the presence of a connected battery in a charger. There are many other ways but in my circuit the comparator was already there anyway. One advantage is that the comparator is very sensitive and will not consume hardly any current. If you use the quad LM339, you could even detect 4 different voltage levels and light up indicator LEDs.