How to Start ARM project ?! Computer Engineering Student needs help!

EnJuhNeer

Joined Nov 15, 2013
Hello everyone!

I am currently a computer engineering student interested in embedded systems and robotics and i feel, that studying all that theory quickly leads to boredom since i personally learn the fastest while doing something practical - which is why i wanted to start my own project. The thing is, that i don't know where to start.

What i have in mind:

I was thinking of an ARM based Quadcopter, that is both capable of autonomous and human-controlled flight. The copter would have all the basic sensors needed for successful flight. I have also added an image (attachment) to describe what i have in mind and what the abstract schematic of the system would look like. Also what i would like to know is wheter an, lets say a 32bit ARM would be capable of handling all communications(includes video transmitting via RF) and sensor processing? Or should all subsystems have their own microcontrollers that communicate with the main ARM MCU? I know, that Flight Control Unit must have its own Microcontroller to handle motor speeds and high voltage for motors, that needs to be isolated from main circuit.

I would like to interface the copter to my PC so that it sends telemetry and flight data to GUI application, which acts kind of as a cockpit, from where i could change flight settings etc, the copter would also be controlled with a joystick through computer and through this application. I was planning to write the GUI application in Java (Java for its easy GUI building) and the software for the copter in ... Should i use C or C++? I thought, that for hardware related programming i should ofcourse use C, but for control and flight logics, because they could highly benefit from OOP?