How to programmatically vary voltage?

geekman92

Joined Apr 5, 2013
Hi guys! =)

I'm a programmer not an electrician so bare with me!! :p

I have a motor controller that controls the speed of a motor by reading a voltage between 1.2v and 3v.

I would like to control this motor (via the controller) from an arduino/raspi, how would I go about programmatically varying the voltage from the 3.3v pin between 1.2v and 3v?

I have done a bit of research and come up with a few possible ideas:

1. Using a digital potentiometer as a varying voltage divider.
  2. Using PWM through a filter. (I know you can use PWM to control motors but don't know if it will work with motor controllers)
  3. Would a variable voltage regulator work?
  4. Could I use a variable DAC?

I have virtually no electronics experience so I have no idea if any of these would work. Please could someone suggest what is the best way to vary the voltage?

Thanks in advanced!

Last edited:

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
You could go the route of PWM through a fillet, but our isn't terribly good. I would probably use a DAC, can be made by a R-2R resistor arrangement. this allows a digital value to create an analog voltage.

Since it just reads the voltage on a pin, most of your solutions would work.

geekman92

Joined Apr 5, 2013
Thanks for the quick reply, sorry I haven't been as quick!!

Okay so PWM is ruled out!

If I used DAC I would probably use an IC DAC instead of an R-2R ladder but thanks for the suggestion.

Can anyone suggest a good DAC for my purpose? After a quick search on farnell.com I was looking at using the MCP4921, any thoughts?! =)

Thanks

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
If you filter the PWM signal properly to give a DC level and don't need high accuracy (say better than 2%) you likely could use that.

How fast do you need to vary the signal?

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009