How to make a Priority-less Quiz Buzzer?

astrotom

Joined Jul 14, 2012
My project: A priority-less quiz buzzer using a microcontroller which outputs the teams in order of their response instead of blocking their buzzers if a buzzer is already pressed.

Hello everyone here! I am new to the forums and infact new to electronics. My school's looking for a student made electronic buzzer and the one who makes it gets a prize. We are allowed to take help from anywhere.

I am just a high school student and have just the basic knowledge of circuits and electronics which are covered in the syllabus. However I quite expert in programming in c and c++. I have also taken the time to research the internet for how microcontrollers work.

Well as my project title says, I wish to make a buzzer which tells which team pressed 1st, 2nd, 3rd and so on instead of block other teams' buzzers if a buzzer is already pressed. I searched the net but the best link which I could understand is this one: http://www.engineersgarage.com/microcontroller/8051projects/8-candidate-quiz-buzzer-AT89C51-circuit
However that's a regular quiz buzzer and not priority-less.

If someone could help me modify that project to my needs, I would be grateful. I am attaching the resources from that site such as circuit diagrams and the microcontroller embedded codes here for easy evaluation.

I also found another site which has just what I want but it was too confusing and it used a PC to monitor the inputs ans show the result instead of activating a buzzer. The link is this: http://electrosofts.com/parallel/buzzer.html

I hope you guys help. And a complete setup guide for the project if possible would be welcome.

Thank You.

Attachments

astrotom

Joined Jul 14, 2012