How to isolate camera from circuit?

JDR04

Joined May 5, 2011
Help! Im new to electronics and want to know how to connect my Canon 30D camera to a simple 555 timer circuit in a safe way so as to prevent any sort of damage to my camera. Is there a way to optically isolate it? I have a spare shutter release cable but do not know how to safely connect it to the circuit?? Any help out there?:confused:

Joined Nov 30, 2010
In case you didn't know, optoisolators are available with several output devices, like an NPN transistor, a thyristor, or a few other things. This makes designing much more convenient than it used to be.

JDR04

Joined May 5, 2011
Thanks CDRIVE. Appreciate the schematic. Can I use any other type of optoisolator as the one you suggested seems to be in very short supply in the UK?

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
Snip:....... Can I use any other type of optoisolator as the one you suggested seems to be in very short supply in the UK?
This isn't a critical component. Post the part number of the opto that's available to you.

BTW, you could also use a plain old NPN Transistor. It won't provide the isolation that the opto does but I don't think you need it anyway.

EDIT: We have plenty of UK members reading this that will probably tell you what's available in the UK.

JDR04

Joined May 5, 2011
I bought a SFH618-2 but I'm having trouble getting it to trigger the camera. I can get an LED to switch on but not the camera. Do you think it has something to do with the part??

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
Did you measure the open circuit voltage at the shutter jack, as I asked? Are we sure that the center pin is positive?

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
I bought a SFH618-2 but I'm having trouble getting it to trigger the camera. I can get an LED to switch on but not the camera. Do you think it has something to do with the part??
The 4N30 has a darlington output and a 150mA continuous Ic rating. The SFH618-2 is only 50mA and 150mA with a pulse width <= 1mS.