How to implement mppt algorithm

ali zeeshan

Joined Feb 7, 2014
hi there everybody i want to make a solar panel based system implementing mppt i am a student of electronics and have a bit of knowledge about different algorithms such as P&O, Inc conductance etc... the problem is am not clear on how to physically implement this... have a little idea that need controller to control switching of mosfet but the overall design is not clear nor the component list please help me with this...
one more thing i am interested in testing the design on matlab (simulink) first and have found a model for solar panel but i don't have idea that what components are required..... i would gladly accept all kind of advice and support i can get from here.. Thanks in advance

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Based on reading the wiki on MPPT, I suggest you start with the problem of measuring voltages and currents accurately over relatively small ranges.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Solar-Cell-IV-curve-with-MPP.png

Ideally, for a single cell, you want at least 8 bit resolution over the voltage range {0.3 V:0.5 V} which is 781 microvolts per step; a tall order. You also want at least 8 bit resolution over the current range of {5 mA: 40 mA} or 136 microamps per step; also a tall order. If you can't measure these things accurately then no matter what control algorithm you pick, it won't be very effective.

Once you get past the challenge of measuring voltage and current you have to understand how to vary the load so that you can move voltage and current to where you want them to be. It may involve MOSFETS or it might involve other things.

You might find the following paper of interest.

http://lib.tkk.fi/Dipl/2010/urn100399.pdf

And this one

http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/AppNotes/00001521A.pdf

Those were the top 3 hits. I get paid big bucks because google is my friend; you can too.

Last edited:

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011