How to get more torque from relatively low-torque stepper motor?

milkisgood

Joined May 4, 2008
Hello guys. I'm building a robotic arm as a hobby of mine and so far I am just working on the basic movement operations.

My question is:

How do I increase the output torque from a low-torque stepper motor?

My own thoughts are that I should get/install/create some sort of planetary gear train for the stepper motor and make sure it's at a ratio that would at least give me 3-5 times the output torque.

But here's my problem, I'm not too good with gears. So I would have to ask one of you smart guys how many gears I would need, what ratio/size do they have to be and how do I go along and build it?

Again, if anyone knows a website that sells a planetary gear kit or something similar that would increase my stepper motor torque, then by all means just throw me a link. It would make my job much easier!!

Thanks.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Any gearing that would step down the turn ratio will effectively increase torque. A worm gear setup might be easier.

This is mechanical engineering, so be patient.

Meanwhile, you could look at the J.W. Berg catalog online. Using a pair of sprocket gears and a chain connecting them is easier than trying to set up direct gearing.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
You would be better off to select a larger stepper motor that has the torque you require.