How to control solenoid valve in a double acting cylinder circuit

Luciano

Joined Dec 5, 2010
Total newb here, but I ve been lurking for a while.
I need to control the cycle speed of a double acting cylinder. I also need to automate the system. I've read similar threads but haven't found a clear solution.
So I'll be using a five port solenoid valve and two flow control valves on the exhaust lines to control the speed of the stroke. I also need to control the cycle speed between 10-20 cpm.
Some suggest an LM555 timer with adjustable resistor but I am thinking repeat cycle relays would work better. Question is do I need two of them for upstroke and downstroke? Any other suggestions? Thanks

whatsthatsmell

Joined Oct 9, 2009
I am assuming the cpm rate you need to automate is based on some sort of feedback data you are receiving from somewhere else in the process. Perhaps you can elaborate.

I am thinking possibly a PIC solution where you can input that data and vary your output accordingly.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
If the cylinders' rod is double-ended, you could use a single regulator valve on the pressure side to control the piston speed.

If the cylinders' rod is single-ended, you might still use a single regulator valve on the pressure side, but it'll have to move a fair bit when the piston changes directions. A PWM-controlled valve might be OK with that.

You could use a linear pot to track the cylinder speed and location. You might also be able to use a rotational encoder.

Rbeckett

Joined Sep 3, 2010