how to chop voltage?

tuuluser

Joined Nov 20, 2011
I have a 15VDC analog signal, but I only need the top part of that signal for an ADC. That is, I only want the region from 10-15v, and I want to offset that to 0-5v.

I don't have an AREF pin available on the ADC. Just scaling down the signal with a voltage divider loses too much resolution.

How to do this? Is there some kind of analog comparator IC?

odinhg

Joined Jul 22, 2009
How about using a single-supply opamp to "subtract" 10V? The output can't swing under 0V so what's left on the output should be only the part from 10-15V.

tuuluser

Joined Nov 20, 2011
I am new to comparators. I tried a couple and the output just floated around zero. LM339 and LM2903. Checked ground , Vcc = 5v ,In+ = 13v, In- = 8v, Out = 97-150mV. What am I missing here?

odinhg

Joined Jul 22, 2009
Since I'm a beginner myself, I tried to come up with a working solution for my own learning.
Maybe it is a bit over complicated for the task, but it should work.

But like I said, I'm still a novice, so you should probably listen to the more experienced users like crutschow and take my solution with a grain of salt.

Attachments

Last edited:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
I am new to comparators. I tried a couple and the output just floated around zero. LM339 and LM2903. Checked ground , Vcc = 5v ,In+ = 13v, In- = 8v, Out = 97-150mV. What am I missing here?
You are missing a pullup resistor of about 1kΩ from the output to +V.
LM339 and LM2903 have open-collector outputs.

Your input voltages are too high. Keep the inputs between 0V and Vcc - 1.5V.

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
LM330 and LM2903 are voltage comparators, There is only 2 output states for them, +ve greater than -ve and the opposite, What you want is an op-amp. The 741 will not work since it requires a positive and negative voltage supply. Also, you will need one that goes from rail to rail like the LT1366.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008