How to choose geared DC ? :]

aGpLT

Joined Jan 21, 2010
Hello everyone, i am doing project robot arm and i used dc geared 2.4V 1A motors and they are to weak. So i am searching for stronger motors and i dont know how to choose properly, could someone help me ? Ask something if you need more detailed information :]

aGpLT

Joined Jan 21, 2010
Last edited:

aGpLT

Joined Jan 21, 2010
So no one can can help me ? ;] sorry for impatience just i need to know in these days. Just i am quite new with motors and really don't have any idea which one to chose.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
I see the pix, but the motor has only the function of closing/opening the gripper? Do you have a figure for the torque produced by the current motor, and have an idea of what the desired torque might be?

And do you have a source of surplus motors to be able to obtain a cheap replacement?

aGpLT

Joined Jan 21, 2010
I see the pix, but the motor has only the function of closing/opening the gripper? Do you have a figure for the torque produced by the current motor, and have an idea of what the desired torque might be?

And do you have a source of surplus motors to be able to obtain a cheap replacement?
Yeah it's. Hmm about torque i don't have any idea, sorry. What you mean by last question, can't understand, are you asking, do i know where to get cheap motors ? :]

aGpLT

Joined Jan 21, 2010
NO, you will need a motor with a gearbox on it to increase the torque output of the motor to be able to move something heavy with it....

similar to something like this rated at 12/24 volts, 2 amps...

B. Morse
Under load (4.2Ncm) speed is 715rpm, current drain is 0.75A @ 13vdc. or
12vdc gearhead motor produces 18kg-cm torque @ 27RPM with only 330ma current drain. 2 amps i think is to much for me i mean for my controller, max current per channel is 2 amp.

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009