How to change frequencies on a cellphone?

Moleculor

Joined May 29, 2011
Ok. I saw this forum in an article (lifehacker? gizmodo?), wandered over, and realized I might be able to ask a question here that's been bugging me for a few months.

A preface: I'm not an electronics expert. Hell, I'm not even a beginner. Closest I've ever gotten to understanding electronics is being able to put computer parts together to build a PC. I *think* I know the basic functionality of a few basic parts (resistors, capacitors), but pretty much any terminology is going to be something I'm going to have to Google feverishly just to understand. (Hell, I was reading your rules, and I had to spend two or three minutes Googling "LED to mains" just to figure out why it was against your rules to talk about. And I'm still not entirely certain why. Fire hazard is my guess.)

Anyhow... this is going to require a bit of background explanation.

Cellphones. Specifically GSM (as opposed to CDMA) cellphones, in this case. There is, so far as I understand it, two (or maybe six to ten) radios in a cellphone.

The first kind of radio is the actual GSM radio (operates on bands that are described as 850/900/1800/1900, and I'm pretty sure those are MHz). Most phones come "quad-band" like that, as different carriers in different locations have rights (owned or rented) to specifically only one or so of those four bands, and those GSM bands are the ones that the phone uses to actually "talk" for phone conversations. For example, in America, 850 and 1900 are the used frequencies.

Almost all phones come with the full set of four frequencies, and I think it's a very rare situation (Brazil only, I think?) where any other frequencies are used for standard phone operation (1900/2100 in Brazil, I think).

None of that matters, since all phones (that I'm looking at) come in quad-band GSM style that's compatible almost anywhere I'm likely to go.