How to build circuit for lifting mechanism

kksmith

Joined May 23, 2009
Hi,
I need to build a simple machine which can work on DC battery but I have no knowledge of electronics may be someone can help me.

Task: I need to move a small platform up & down for hobby project. If I press switch upward it should go up and if I press switch downward then platform should move downward.

Problem:
I can build up mechanical setup but I don't understand how to control motor turn clockwise and anti-clockwise with a switch. Second problem is once it reaches to the extreme limit how to stop motor automatically.

Any help or pointer to right direction would be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Kevin

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
What is distance from floor to platform, retracted? Now extended? What is size of platform? What load must it lift?
One option is a scissor jack, using a gear-speed reduced electric motor, threaded shaft, nut two limit switches, & a DPDT relay; also the up-dn switch.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
The simplest, non-electronic method would use a reversing switch and two limit switches.

The reversing switch can be made from a DPDT switch. I would suggest one with center off. I can't draw you a schematic right now, because that computer has a problem. The two power leads go to the two center terminals. The motor leads go to one set of the outer terminals, and two wires crisscross to the other set of outer terminals. Just look up how to wire a reversing switch. An alternative to a toggle switch is a push-button switch. Commercial versions can be quite expensive, if bought retail. You want a lock-out switch, so you can't push up and down at the same time.

Limit switches are self-explanatory. They simply switch off the power when the lift moves the actuating lever.

John

kksmith

Joined May 23, 2009
Thanks for quick replies, it's not very heavy to lift.
Scissor type jack system can work well.
It needs to move about 80mm and weight is approx 300 grams.