How to bias a transistor using emitter bias method?

simpsonss

Joined Jul 8, 2008
hi,

I would like to learn about the emitter bias biasing. From my reference book, the circuit is as below.

untitled3.JPG

But i'm having problem in identifying the 3 resistors value. How am i gonna put in the value? what value to choose?

thank you.

simpsonss

Joined Jul 8, 2008
To pick components you actually need some targets in mind.

Gain?
Signal swing?
Output / input resistance?
ok.if i would like to have a 10 times in gain.
signal swing means what? the Amplitude?
Another question is why i need to know the output or input resistance?

I'm a newbie in design BJT biasing.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
I think I found example that have the same circuit. The key to the whole thing is to have transistor in forward-active mode, that is Vce>Vbe(on).

Pull up the data sheet for that transistor and look up the Vbe(on). Then put voltmeters into the circuit to measure Vbe and Vce. Start playing with resistors until you get Vce > Vbe while Vbe=Vbe(on).

Also, the book says that the rule of thumb is that amplification factor is about 50 to 300. So gain of 10 might be too low to experiment with.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
From my datasheet, i can see Vbe(sat) but no Vbe(on). So is this the same?

thank you.
I am going to take the coward's way out. Assume Vbe(on) is between 0.6 and 0.7 volts. Now start playing with resistors until you get Vbe equal to 0.7 volts, and Vce greater than 0.7 volts.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Hint: base emitter to -5VDC resistance is β (transistor beta) X R3. There is no Base to Collecter resistance. You should now be able to establish the voltage on the base, and work it from there.

2nd Hint: Ic + Ib = Ie

simpsonss

Joined Jul 8, 2008
can i said that when Vce is equal to Vcc means my transistor is in cutoff mode?

So for currently i vary my Rc value. And i get Vbe=0.66 and Vce = 2.45V. So could i say that i'm working in the correct result?

thanks.