how many LED's?

Bear_2759

Joined May 23, 2008
Hi guys, how would you suggest I calculate number/type/specs of LED's to replace a fluro?

personally I'd prefer to work with thru hole over SMD's.

it's for a small project I'm working on is to replace a fluro in my fish tank.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Hi guys, how would you suggest I calculate number/type/specs of LED's to replace a fluro?
personally I'd prefer to work with thru hole over SMD's.
it's for a small project I'm working on is to replace a fluro in my fish tank.
I am not an expert on this. But is not a a fluro important for the plant growning in your fish tank. I do not think LEDs emit the type of light that plants need

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
I am not an expert on this. But is not a a fluro important for the plant growning in your fish tank. I do not think LEDs emit the type of light that plants need
Not true. Many plant growers and saltwater reef tank owners are switching to LED's (mostly for the decreased heat output). LED's can be purchased in many different color spectrums that are excellent for plant growth (or coral growth in saltwater reef tanks). In fact many are seeing that LED's increase plant growth over other setups like metal halide and high pressure sodium bulbs as the light can be setup to give the exact color spectrum needed for optimal growth.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
You really would not want to work with thru-hole LEDs for a project like this. You would need far too many in order to produce the amount of light needed, and then you would have problems with heat dissipation.

My eldest stepson has a salt water fish tank, and has an assortment of high-intensity lamps providing a great deal of illumination, and supporting fans to provide cooling. I don't recall what all he has connected, but he has a 15A 120v outlet maxed out, so about 1,800 Watts.

Cree makes some very powerful LEDs.