How do you wind a toroidal inductor?

noob_whale

Joined Dec 28, 2013
Hi, I'm just starting out with electronics, and recently, I've been attempting to make an electro-magnet out of a toroid wrapped with magnet wire. For whatever reason though, the toroid isn't producing a noticeable magnetic field. I've been able to make a simple electro-magnet from wrapping magnet wire around an iron bolt, but the toroid isn't working for me.

Dr.killjoy

Joined Apr 28, 2013
Hi, I'm just starting out with electronics, and recently, I've been attempting to make an electro-magnet out of a toroid wrapped with magnet wire. For whatever reason though, the toroid isn't producing a noticeable magnetic field. I've been able to make a simple electro-magnet from wrapping magnet wire around an iron bolt, but the toroid isn't working for me.
I could be wrong but what you are making is what we call a choke,coil, transformer .. ..

http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/magnetic/toroid.html

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Wont the toroidal shape of the electromagnet cancel the poles out therefore yielding no result?
Yes, that is the whole point of a toroidal core. Think of wrapping wire around a nail to make an electromagnet - north at the head and South Pole at the point. Now, bend the nail into a circle (toroid) and North cancels South. The magnetic field should be perfectly inducted through the circumference of the toroid and no emi outside the toroid.

toroid cores are used in transformers for high-end audio to specifically prevent any signal cross-over from the transformer.

If you want to make an electromagnet, break/cut the toroid in half. If you score it and tap it, it should crack. If it is an iron powder core, you can cut it with a saw - the powder is held together with epoxy. Or, more simply, just use a nail.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Is there usually a noticeable magnetic field with components such as this?