How do I find the right Transistor?

Mongrel_Shark

Joined May 30, 2012
So I'm pretty new to transistors. Used them in circuits drawn by others before. But now I need to find one (or even better a few I can play around with) which meets certain requirements.

In this case I really need to know the low ranges, I need low base voltage. So I figure I need germanium. Ordered some big ones (ac141k, stop laughing please, they have shiny heatsink, and I love shiny things) because I thought they would be versatile as well as being useful in a later project I am planning. As I suspected, they don't work very well on my low power circuit. I can get light from .2v, but its not as good as the same circuit with a BC337, 347, 348,349, or even a 2n3904....

Before you ask. I am making a joule thief to run on very low voltages. (in this example, a solar cell indoors) There are tons that go down to around .5v even with .6-.7v silicon transistors. Due to the boost from the induction coil increasing base volts.

I've seen one go down to less than .2v and still light an LED (Dimly) using a bc107. With a specific coil winding.

I don't need much help on the coils. I want to learn the maths there asap. I'll start a thread on my joule thief project if I feel I need serious help.

I was just wondering if there is a search engine for transistors and other semis?

Even a big chart?

The local electronics store has a partly handy chart for all the parts they stock. but it's a very limited selection and mostly just has max ratings. never lowest operation figures.

So my main Question is this.

Once I know what characteristics are desirable. How do I find the right component?

Trawling through data sheets in making my brain go numb...

Especially with old germanium stuff that is out of production.

How do I find the right Semi?

BSomer

Joined Dec 28, 2011