How Can This Transistor Survive?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Artbuc

Joined Jun 8, 2014
Hi folks! This my first post. I am a retired chemical engineer who loves to DIY. Do not know too much about electricity although I did take Linear Circuit Theory as a technical elective and I can usually figure things out thinking about electricity as fluid flow. Quick project background: I have a Time Delay Module (TDM) on my garden tractor which instantaneously kills ignition and, after a second or so delay, kills the electric PTO clutch. If my butt lifts off the seat switch, current to the TDM is killed. Mine started to malfunction and I went to my tractor forum for help. Discovered another person (I'll call him Bill) had the same problem. Instead of spending $120 on a new TDM, he decided to build his own, which he has done successfully. I tried to do the same. Mine worked a few times and then the transistor fried. Why?

Here is the TDM schematic from the tractor Service Manual:

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-4CaKNQyx6ag/UF3lWcsp1xI/AAAAAAAAAy0/Ki1o79iPsPg/s562/%21cid_887DC29CB5F8481E86285FE760C88CDC%40WilliamVAIO.png

Bill exposed his TDM circuit and discovered the Service Manual had R1 in the wrong position. He also identified the components. Here is his sketch:

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-...q7Mi2jh4m78/s783/time+delay+interlock+(2).png

Here is a picture of Bill's TDM:

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-...AAzk/pmR4FbtQEj4/s631/IMG_20120922_170143.jpg