Hot batteries

Cougar22

Joined Apr 1, 2013
I am NEW at Electronics and Circuits and I am trying to make a Spaceship Prototype.

Here is the Problem: I have a 2 AAA Battery holder that is getting excessively HOT when the Switch is OFF. When the Switch is ON, all the LED's go on and the batteries do NOT overheat. The problem is when the switch is OFF.

Here is the Circuit;

2 AAA Battery Holder (3V) is connect to the 3A 250VAC Switch.

From the Switch I am completing the Circuit to Six (6) .28ma LED's.

Can someone HELP me with this Problem???

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Your switch is connected in parallel. It should be in series. As of now, you are connecting the battery negative to battery positive with just copper wire in between when you turn the switch on - don't do that because the battery gets hot and can pop open and hurt someone.

You cannot just connect black to black and red to red on a switch.

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
I imagine the switch has three terminals, correct me if I'm wrong.
Connect (+) of the battery to the centre terminal
Connect one of the other terminals to one end of the LEDs and resistors (I hope there are resistors)
Connect the other end of the LEDs to the (-) of the battery
Don't make any other connections.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Could you PLEASE post some kind of a sketch of what you have and how you are making your connections. Saying something like the battery holder is connected to the switch isn't helpful because the battery holder has TWO wires and the switch has at least two terminals. So sketch something. It doesn't have to be fancy -- something in Paint will do. Or hand draw it and scan it. Or take a picture and post that.

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Switches on small DC circuits do not have polarity (ignore color).

Red battery wire to one switch lead
Other switch lead to all six resistors (100 ohms each)
Connect each resistor to the anode (+) of an LED