High Speed Counter for PLC

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
How to design a high Speed counter for PLC ?(I'm relatively new to PLC's?)
Thanks in Advance.
It is pretty easy to tell you how to get started. You must define your requirements
I can give you a list to guide in this process if that would be of interest.
Alternatively, you can just spend a few minutes to write, and tell us what you should have told us in the first place.
Did you think we were mind readers with powers of precognition?

Mary Theresa Dominic

Joined May 28, 2020
Thanks for your reply.
Sorry this is my first time posting, and first time using this forum!
I just began my career as a hardware design engineer and my first task is to implement high speed counter for PLC (RX632N- Renesas 32 bit micro controller which as sensors as its input module ). I have the basic idea of PLC and all its block. So I need help on how to get started in high speed counter ,how does it work and what are its blocks and how do i interface it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Thanks for your reply.
Sorry this is my first time posting, and first time using this forum!
I just began my career as a hardware design engineer and my first task is to implement high speed counter for PLC (RX632N- Renesas 32 bit micro controller which as sensors as its input module ). I have the basic idea of PLC and all its block. So I need help on how to get started in high speed counter ,how does it work and what are its blocks and how do i interface it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Have you been given any requirements or objectives for this project?
If so it would help to know what they are. If not I have some questions
  1. What will you be counting?
  2. How fast is fast, or what will be the maximum arrival rate of events that you need to count?
  3. Will the counter count up or down or both?
  4. Is this a decimal counter or a binary counter?