High power led dimming

ktnch

Joined Jan 19, 2011
Hi newbie here be gentle, Got a 32-36v psu with 1400ma regulated current also bought a 50w 32-36v led 1700ma max. Now these are sold as a stand alone working pair, what it the simplest way to get the led dimming, I am about to buy an Arduino as its a project for a reef lighting system. We need to get a rtc and a touch screen controller for the arduino as well.

Could i use the pwm feed from the arduino to feed a tc1427 then 2 mosfets IRL13705N Slight overkill as the mosfets are rated at 52amp 55v but comes on an arduino board

The build will be 6 x 50w leds ran of one dimming channel then 10 royal blues ran of another pwm channel and finally violet leds running from a third pwm channel

At first i was going to have a common psu supplying a 30amp 36v pwm speed control but the constant current drivers for the leds would have been far to much so the cheapest way is one psu per led

Thank you

Kev http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270597994407&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

ktnch

Joined Jan 19, 2011
Thank you for that, I had started a thread on the marine fish forum i am on and got told it could not be done, I kept trying to tell them that the mosfets are not there to change the current or voltage but simply as a switch the psu i have for the led is regulated under the max of the led, I got told something about feedback loops on the pwm circuit any ideas ?

infact this is what i got told can you shed any light on it