High pass filter - detailed explanation

grushka

Joined Feb 3, 2009
So I have this filter:

and I plot ratio of Vout/Vin versus frequency:
(there are 2 curves, as one represents simulation and the other one measurements obtained during the laboratory exercise)

Could some please explain to me what is exactly happening in this filter step by step? I know there are 2 resonances at f=1300 Hz and f=2400 Hz, I know what a high pass filter is, what it does and now I need very detailed explanation for this circuit, like for a complete noob. Feel free to include some complicated formulas, I'm not afraid of them:) The most important thing for me is to know why it happens and when, not what happens as this is quite clear.

KL7AJ

Joined Nov 4, 2008
So I have this filter:

and I plot ratio of Vout/Vin versus frequency:
(there are 2 curves, as one represents simulation and the other one measurements obtained during the laboratory exercise)

Could some please explain to me what is exactly happening in this filter step by step? I know there are 2 resonances at f=1300 Hz and f=2400 Hz, I know what a high pass filter is, what it does and now I need very detailed explanation for this circuit, like for a complete noob. Feel free to include some complicated formulas, I'm not afraid of them:) The most important thing for me is to know why it happens and when, not what happens as this is quite clear.

Not all filters operate at resonance (although some do, most notably the Cauer Elliptical filter and its derivations).