Hi im new here

krahsami

Joined Dec 31, 2008
Im also a newbie so bear with me. I have programming knowledge in c and C++. I am now experimenting with my first PIC. I bought a velleman kit K8048 (programmer and experiment board) just to start dabbling. Im soldering it up as we speak. Anyway I have no real assembly experience im sure I can figure it out if really need be but is there a way to use C programming instead with other software to use this experiment board?

Right now it comes with the pic16F627

• power supply: 12 or 15V DC, min. 300mA, non-regulated adapter
  • supports the following microcontrollers:
    • PIC12F629, PIC12F675
    • PIC16C83, PIC16CR83, PIC16F83, PIC16C84, PIC16CR84,PIC16F84, PIC16F84A
    • PIC16F870, PIC16F871, PIC16F872, PIC16F873, PIC16F873A, PIC16F874, PIC16F874A, PIC16F876, PIC16F876A, PIC16F877(A)(ICSP only)
    • PIC16F627, PIC16F627A, PIC16F628, PIC16F628A, PIC16F648A
    • PICF630, PIC16F676
    • PIC16F818, PIC16F819
Also what do you guys think is the best PIC simulation\Emulation software that I might want to use.

• Thanks for the help:)

Last edited:

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
If you have a programmer you can write the code in C, then compile it with MPLAB and then load the program on the chip with the programmer.

What is wrong with the software they gave you?

krahsami

Joined Dec 31, 2008