HEX Inverter Alarm Circuit with Reed Switch

Tiger7

Joined Mar 9, 2018
Hi, I am a complete beginner in electronics but I urgently require help for a GCSE (UK secondary school qualifiaction) project: an alarm system which uses a reed switch and HEX inverter to detect the opening of a door, triggering the buzzer and red LED. For some reason, the HEX inverter doesn't seem to be working: when I take out the HEX inverter, nothing happens - the three outputs just continuosly flare up regardless of the HEX inverter. I have connected the ground pin and power supply pin as well as all the un-used input pins to ground.

I have used a 555 astable to try and create oscillations for the buzzer and LED output, but when the circuit is switched on, all the outputs (2 LEDs and a buzzer) continuously flare up.

Below is my PCB design which replicates the 'Yenka' circuit design at the bottom.

Capture.PNG Yenka - Alarm circuit.PNGThis is the 'Yenks' circuit design which does not include the volatage regulator (the power supply has been reduced to 6V to replicate the effect of a L7805 voltage regualtor) or the reed switch (replaced by an SPST switch which is connected to the NOT logic gate.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
There are a couple of changes that would make the circuit less complex, but your problem probably is that there is no pull-down resistor at the IC3a input to GND. CMOS inputs are extremely high impedance, and can remember their last input for a long time when floating.

Also, add a 0.1 uF cap across the power and ground pins of each IC.

To protect the 555, increase both timing resistors 10x, aand decrease the timing cap 10x. This reduces the peak current into the Discharge pin.

ak

Last edited:

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
If pin 3 of the 555 is permanently high, then pin 2 is not getting a charge up voltage from the resistors 5k6, 1k, or the 100uF capacitor is shorted out .

jbeng

Joined Sep 10, 2006