helping pick resistor values for 555

campeck

Joined Sep 5, 2009
I need a 555 to go from .6Hz to 30hz only being able to change one of the resistors by 1k. duty cycle is irrelevant. I'm having trouble getting these numbers with calculators and since I suck at math I'm not good at flipping formulas around the way I need them. Could someone help and explain how you got the values?

Thank you!

PS. I am actually not sure 30Hz is what I want for max. Is there a website where I can visualize or hear a 30hz clicking/flashing?

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
The standard form astable circuit using the 555 timer probably won't give you workable practical values for such a small control change of 1000Ω in one of the two usual timing resistors [normally designated RA & RB].

Perhaps you might explain why you have this constraint.

The problem lies in satisfying the condition for the required astable frequency range of 0.6 to 30 Hz based on the astable formula ...

f=1.49/((RA+2RB)C)

Whether you change either RA or RB by a mere 1kΩ leads to unrealistic values.

campeck

Joined Sep 5, 2009
Could it be done with 10k 50k or 100k?
I am using a digi pot to control it.

I thought the ad5220 was 1k but it's 10k. So thats what I have right now.

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
Could it be done with 10k 50k or 100k?
I am using a digi pot to control it.

I thought the ad5220 was 1k but it's 10k. So thats what I have right now.
10K or better would be more in line. The reason for staying away from low value resistances in the timing circuit is that in most cases that equates to a a very large timing cap. High value electrolytics usually exhibit a fairly decent (and unpredictable) amount of leakage current so you end up with a rather inaccurate &/or unpredictable circuit.

The eye can't see anything that flashes much over 10 Hz nor can you really hear frequencies that low (much less easily reporoduce them) - they become more of a physical feeling. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audio_frequency