Help with Triac Controller

prb22786

Joined Sep 19, 2010
Here's what I thought was a pretty simple project. Up-counter fires off a series of opto-triacs sequentially which in turn fire power triacs for the AC load. Its use is for theatrical lighting. My power triacs are BTA20-700BW, and the 8 triac resistors (R4-R11) are 5.1k 2W. I'm thinking that these values might be off, I wasn't at all sure how to calculate them. I'm very new to using triacs.

The problem I'm having is that all 4 AC load lines are always ON. Can anyone see why this might be? I'm wondering if I need higher values for the gate resistors? Also, which the power triac gate connected as it currently is, I'm thinking the floating voltage is turning the triac on even when the opto-triacs aren't conducting. If I move the gate connection to the other pin of the opto-triacs, will that solve my problem?

Any suggestions/criticism are definitely appreciated.

View attachment ControlBox.bmp

View attachment ControlBox.sch

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
When in doubt double check the datasheet of the optoisolator, I've found them to be confusing at times and sometimes drawn incorrectly for the two devices to "sync" together.

prb22786

Joined Sep 19, 2010
Do you mean as far as MT1 and MT2 of the TLP3064 syncing with the BTA20-700? If that was reversed, wouldn't it cause them to not turn on, rather than always be on?

Now that I've kind of stepped back, I think the problem is when the opto's aren't conducting, the gate of the power triac is connected to a voltage on the HOT wire. I think moving the gate connections to the other lead pin of the TLP3064 opto-triac will solve my problem. Unfortunately, I made boards so I'll have to cut leads and run jumpers.

I'll probably get to work tomorrow, if anyone can confirm/deny I'm on the right track I'd be grateful.

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010