Help with This circuit (H-Bridge 1ph full wave inverter)

Ahmed Waleed

Joined Mar 4, 2008
Dear All,
Please help me to find the error in this circuit.
The circuit is H-Bridge 1ph full wave inverter.
I built this circuit using Proteus 7 Prof. like a ready made model in MATLAB but it doesn't work and it gave me some errors.
Please see it and tell me where is my mistake.
thanks in advance

Attachments

Ahmed Waleed

Joined Mar 4, 2008
please try to help me, i can't do it myself as i'm new in the filed of electronics.

I have fired the MOSFETs using the output from PIC18F452, it's a square wave with 50% duty cycle and max. voltage of 5 volts.
the output frequency from PIC is 244 Hz.
I hope this helps you to correct me.

Thanks

Last edited:

Ahmed Waleed

Joined Mar 4, 2008
17 persons watched the topic and no reply. am i asking for something really hard or it's just too easy to answer....please help me I'm really in deep need of it.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

I think the main problem is that the difference between gate and source voltage of the FET is to low.
The gate must be ca. 10 volts higher as the source to fully open the FET.
The ground position if the bridge can also cause problems.

I have put the schematic in again so the others can give their comments too.

Greetings,
Bertus

Attachments

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
If you are new to this stuff why you try to make advanced things?

To make your circuit work you will need a MOSFET driver IC to drive your MOS.
MOS typically require 10V Vgs to fully turn on unless they are logic level MOS. By only 5V from the PIC they won't turn on. Also, the high side MOS will need a bootstrap circuit to be able to turn on unless you use p-channel ones.
What is more, a PIC can't supply enough current during the switching and the MOS will turn on slowly, dissipate more heat and may burn.

What kind of AC load are you planning to supply?

What is the required output AC voltage? Where is your step up transformer?