Help with splitting a 12V PC fan tacho signal

joe brick

Joined May 18, 2013
Hello,

As I'm quite new to electronics, I would greatly appreciate a little help with a project I'm working on in relation to PC fans.

In a nutshell, what I would like to do is to split the tacho output signal from a 12V PC fan. The purpose of this is to be able to connect one tacho output to a fan header on the PC's motherboard (for continuous reading of the fan's speed), and the other tacho output to a fan failure alarm circuit I'm currently working on.

If I understand correctly, the tacho output of PC fans is of the "open collector" type and that therefore it requires a pull-up resistor.

I've also been told that the said tacho signal split could be achieved with a couple of small transistors and a few resistors, but no specifics.

Could anyone help me with info on how to construct this "tacho splitting" circuit please? (a simple diagram would be of enormous help :D)

Thank you,

Joe

Last edited:

Joined Nov 30, 2010
There are a hundred ways to do this. First glance says try a voltage follower, make that into a frequency to voltage converter, compare that to some DC level, and let the second stage indicate when the fan stops sending tachometer pulses. I'm sure it can be done with less complication, but that requires knowing things like the resistance being used to generate the tach pulses.

Here's an idea:

Attachments

Last edited:

joe brick

Joined May 18, 2013
Hey #12,

Thank you very much for the exceptionally quick response!

I have to admit I've lost you there, though. You seem to be talking about the fan alarm circuit (or possibly that combined with the tacho splitting circuit?)

However, what I'm looking for is just a simple tacho splitting circuit (I've already got the alarm circuit covered).