Help with scope monitoring? (Differential inputs etc)

peskywinnets

Joined Jan 19, 2009
Hiya,

(not exactly a total noob, have had some scope useage previously, but on simple circuits!)

I may have a faulty board, but I'd be interested to hear comments as to whether I should have a viewable 'signal' as seen on a scope between pins 4 & 5 on the main chip on the attached diagram.

I'm not seeing anything at the moment, but that may well becaUse of the way I'm scoping the signal (or becuase of a fault!). My scope groud is on the mainboard ground...I don't see anything on pins 3 or 4. Becuase these are differential inputs, do I need to do something fancy?!!!

I have a Hantek DSO2150 USB scope if it helps! ( http://www.hantek.com.cn/english/produce_list.asp?unid=63 )

As an aside, can anyone explain hat going on there with those inputs on pins 4 & 5.?!

Pin 4 I can grasp grasp (Left positive...L+), but what's happening with the (seemingly to me) weird place they've tapped pin 5 from? (Left negative....L-) I'd have expected the L- to be to ground or the inverse of the L+ signal?

Attachments

Last edited:

KL7AJ

Joined Nov 4, 2008
Hiya,

(not exactly a total noob, have had some scope useage previously, but on simple circuits!)

I may have a faulty board, but I'd be interested to hear comments as to whether I should have a viewable 'signal' as seen on a scope between pins 4 & 5 on the main chip on the attached diagram.

I'm not seeing anything at the moment, but that may well becaUse of the way I'm scoping the signal (or becuase of a fault!). My scope groud is on the mainboard ground...I don't see anything on pins 3 or 4. Becuase these are differential inputs, do I need to do something fancy?!!!

I have a Hantek DSO2150 USB scope if it helps! ( http://www.hantek.com.cn/english/produce_list.asp?unid=63 )

As an aside, can anyone explain hat going on there with those inputs on pins 4 & 5.?!