help with s-video 4x4 video matrix switcher

p4ntb0y

Joined Apr 19, 2011
hi guys,

I am trying to make a s-video matrix selector switch

I make an unpowered version but I get bad picture qauilty when I have them all on the same setting.

So I decieded to build a powered version using a MAX452 video booster.

link herehttp://datasheets.maxim-ic.com/en/ds/MAX452-MAX455.pdf

now I am new to all of this :(

I have 4 inputs s-video RCA
dvd
tv
Sky perfect
PC

and I have 4 out puts going to 4 different TVs

I have 4x rotary switches which i can choose which channel to output on the 4 tvs

my questions are....

I am going from 100V ac to DC 5v for the chip is that right?
how do I wire in the chip?
how can i reduce noise?
can I integrate an remote?

I would ask at the shop where i bought it but I am in japan and do not speak much Japanese.

I will also make my own board which I am reading up now.

regards

Dan

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Welcome to AAC!

You are talking a simple S-video switch box? A schematic is going to be absolutely necessary for any real help. Guessing, you are using a chip to do the actual switching, with the rotary switch selecting the channel the chip lets through?

The main issues is RF, video signals qualify. Isolation is likely to be the biggest issues. You will get ghosting from other inputs on the channel you have selected, which is pretty bad. The isolation will have to be substantial, better than -60db. I don't do it much anymore, but I went through a phase where I worked on video and RF projects pretty heavily. I suspect -80db isolation is pretty much a minimum spec.

This means you will need to pay very special attention to the impedance of your lines, and the ground plane (it is going to be required). A PCB is pretty much required.

You can do less. I did, and lived with the crappy results. :D Just something to be aware of.

p4ntb0y

Joined Apr 19, 2011