Help with LTSpice Boost Convertor Sim

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
I put together this boost converter in Tina.

I want to boost 3VDC to 5VDC. It seems to work OK in Tina. Maybe a bit high at around 5.8 VDC out.

Tina is really nice and really easy to use but the problem is that the demo version does not save. So I tried to do the same thing in LT Spice. I am just starting to learn LT Spice so I am sure it is just how I have my simulation set up.

Can anyone take a look and tell me what I am doing wrong?

Attachments

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
You should be using an NPN transistor, not a PNP transistor in this configuration.

hgmjr
I have seen a couple of simple boost converter circuits and they both used N channel MOSFETs. I guess I just assumed that pnp is the same as an N channel. I still have lots to learn (relearn).

I changed it to a NPN and it still does not work in LT Spice.

Works fine in Yenka and Tina.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
Similar idea, but a regulating boost supply made from two transistors and a transformer. Regulation is pretty decent up to 100mA.
Thanks Sarge I will take a look. In my (rather hgmjr's) circuit, I was getting a 7V spike when it first started, so I put a .1 mfd across that 10ufd. It seemed to take care of the spike.

My supply is going to be two 1.5 batteries. Should I still have regulation?

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Thanks Sarge I will take a look. In my (rather hgmjr's) circuit, I was getting a 7V spike when it first started, so I put a .1 mfd across that 10ufd. It seemed to take care of the spike.
I think you meant Ron_H's circuit, also similar to what you started off with?

Realize that 0.1mfd = 100uF. the "mfd" designation is actually somewhat antiquated.

My supply is going to be two 1.5 batteries. Should I still have regulation?
I showed a 2.8v supply so that you could see how it performs with partially discharged batteries.