Help with LM317 power supply

Ranthalion

Joined Oct 7, 2011
Hello,

I'm just getting started in electronics and I'm trying to build a variable voltage power supply to use while prototyping and testing circuits. It seemed to be pretty straight forward - in fact the datasheet for the LM317 shows the circuit in the typical applications section. So I built the circuit and it works for a little while, but then it seems to stop working. It begins working again when I replace the chip, so I must be damaging it in some way.

I got a 24 volt transformer and rectified it. Output is around 34v DC. C1 is .1uF ceramic, R1 is 330 ohm, R2 is a 6K pot, and C2 is 1000 uF electrolytic.

Any ideas about what could be going wrong? I've even added the protection diodes as shown in figure 3 on page 10 of the data sheet, but I get the same results. I haven't really placed any significant load on the supply. So far, I've only connected LEDs with resistors to test it... The 317 is mounted to an aluminum block heatsink.

-Ranthalion

Attachments

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
The LM317 has an internal overheat shutdown mode. Is it possible that you are overloading the device?

hgmjr

Ranthalion

Joined Oct 7, 2011
I've thought about that, but the heatsink is fairly large - about 2 cm X 3 cm X 6 cm and seems to stay quite cool.

I also haven't pulled much current. Generally I've tried using an LED with a 1K resistor...

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
Keep in mind that the power being dissipated inside the LM317 is calculated by the difference between the input and output voltage times the current being delivered to the load. You need to put a fixed resistor in series with the pot so that you can avoid adjusting the output voltage below a predetermiend value.

For example, if you adjust the output to 5V and the output current to the load is 100 milliamps. That gives you 31 volts times 0.1 amps. The LM317 is dissipating 3.1 watts.