help with a soldering problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaifra78

Joined May 10, 2013
hi i am a newbie and i have been tinkering with a soldering iron lately i have no training anyway my problem is that i was desoldering the wires off of a tablet mainboard to replace the battery and in the spot where the positive wire was this little piece of metal that i assume connected to the board came off from the board and now i cant solder the wire back in its place because that little piece just crumbled when i attempted to put it back but even if it didn't crumble i don't know how i would have gotten it to stick in place anyway so now there is only an empty square on the mainboard where the positive wire is supposed to go so my question is how or can i fix this any help would be greatly appreciated i can add pics if needed just let me know thanks

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
my guess before the pics ..lifted solder pad..
Yep. From the lifted pad, trace the circuit back to something you can solder to (terminal, another component, via on the PCB etc) and use an ohmmeter to confirm the connection between the two points. Then use 30ga wire wrap wire to fix it.

The mobo will be multi-layer with internal signal runs so you may be out of luck.

Consider a smaller iron to make the fix and practice on some scrap until you can get a good joint without overheating the board.

Good luck.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
yep pads gone.. You will need to look at the board and find the trace it connected to and solder to that somewhere like JohninTx said.. Or call it trash and move on.

jaifra78

Joined May 10, 2013
yep pads gone.. You will need to look at the board and find the trace it connected to and solder to that somewhere like JohninTx said.. Or call it trash and move on.
how do i do that please be as simple in explanation as possible i am new at this:)

Joined Nov 30, 2010