Help with a 3 Button Switching System

StuartHenryWilson

Joined Aug 24, 2010
Hi,

First off I should make it clear that I am completely new to this. I have no formal training and am interested in learning myself. I have come up with a project which I eventually want to make use of in my house.

It consists of a water container and a reservoir. The system has 3 buttons, each one powering a solenoid valve for a different time duration and lighting some LEDs. The solenoid valve will release water from the reservoir.

I've been spending whatever free time I've had reading up on 555 timers and such. It's going pretty slow as I am a complete beginner at this and I don't have much free time anyway.

I've come up with a schematic which suits my needs - as far as I can tell - but I still have a few questions. Please have a look at the attached image.

The circuit itself consists of 3 buttons which light the first set of LEDs for a different amount of time each, the second set should come on simultaneously and remain on for approx. 30 seconds.

When getting to grips with the schematic, for simplicity I left out the solenoid valve that I need. I would like to add the solenoid in series with the first 2 LEDs which will run for the same time as them. Can I simply add that in or will I have to go back to the drawing board?

I have not even looked at solenoid valves to buy - will the type of solenoid I use greatly affect my design (supply voltage/resistors/etc)? It is important that it runs on battery power so that it is portable.

The timings for each button are just estimates so that I could visualise the process - I still have to work out the exact values of my resistors/capacitors. Have I made this more complicated than it has to be? Do I have anything where it shouldn't be?

I am trying my best but I am beginning to feel a little out of my depth. It's time to consult more experienced people than me.