Help understanding voltage/current regulator

gregcoll

Joined Oct 11, 2009
Hello

First, I must let you know that I am fairly new to electronics circuits so please have patience with seemingly simple or stupid questions/comments. I have been reading the data sheet on a 3A 5V regulator, MC78T05, and found that I could use it as a current regulator. This setup might help me lower the power requirements for a circuit I have.

I am currently using primitive voltage/current divider circuits to control my power requirements. I have need of 5V @ 1.5A and so my questions about this regulator configuration (see picture) are:

What exactly is meant by 'output voltage compliance'? That is, what is this 'input voltage less 7.0V'? Does this mean that if I supply 5V that my output voltage will be -2V? How is this value calculated?

I have looked through the data sheet and did not find an equivalent circuit to try to figure out and so I don't know how this is calculated or how it will change for different regulating resistors. Thanks.

Attachments

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
If you give the chip less voltage than it needs it can not do its job, in other words it ceases to regulate. You will get less than the correct voltage out of the device. Typically these chips drop around 2-3V to power the internal circuitry.

A better 3 terminal regulator for a current regulator is a LM317. This is a programable voltage regulator, and because it outputs 1.25 volts (as opposed to the 5V your regulator outputs) it drops less voltage. The 5V regulator drops 2V, as well as the 5V it regulates at, for a total of 7V internal drop for a current regulator, not good at all. The LM317 does the same thing, but only drops around 3V or so, which is much better.

Here is how the current regulator is done...

All the voltage regulators should have a 10µF and 0.1µF cap directly on the output of the device, and if there are long wires going to the input a 10µF or bigger on the input, to prevent oscillation.