HELP Square wave not a square wave

theartofdrifting

Joined Aug 20, 2011
Hi I'm a yr 12 student and currently doing a physics assignment; we constructed a oscillator circuit to make an LED flash and we had to control the flashing frequency. Pretty standard, but my problem is with the graphs I obtained. We used the program Audacity to graph the output, I expected a square wave, but some other thing came out - looks kind of like the charge discharge cycles of the capacitor except when it is charging (ON), it is the discharge curve and vice versa for the off cycle. What type of wave is this and why is it being generated?

Thank you!

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
...we constructed a oscillator circuit to make an LED flash and we had to control the flashing frequency.
Welcome to the AAC forum.

Are we to guess what your circuit was? It's simply not possible to help you without a LOT more detail. Are you talking about software only, or is there a real device here?

theartofdrifting

Joined Aug 20, 2011
We used the 555 timer, and constructed an astable multivibrator circuit functioning as a square wave generator.
The timing was controlled by 3 components, and can be expressed with the formula f= 1.45/(R1+2R2)C. We varied R2 from 10k - 500k.

We connected the circuit to the computer in parallel to the LED so that it would not affect the circuit and we could measure the voltage change across the LED (which was at the output). The circuit was connected with a jack to the microphone input (with an added resistance so to keep the soundcard safe). Then we turned our circuit on, and used the audio program audacity to measure the timing of the period and the on and off cycles of our circuit for different R2 values. The graph came out like this.

Why does it look like this?

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010