Help selecting a MOSFET

HyGear

Joined Jul 21, 2011
I am a mechanical engineer with very little electrical background, but I was recently asked by my boss to design a simple controller board for a piece of agricultural equipment because we don't have any electrical engineers. I have already had prototypes of the PCB made, but I'm having trouble with getting them to work properly. Basically, I have input from a sensor that feeds into a series of logic gates. The logic gates decide which of two MOSFETs to activate and the MOSFETs activate a set of relays. All of the logic on the board is working correctly and it is sending a 3.6V signal (from a SN74ls08 AND gate) to the MOSFETs, but the MOSFETs won't activate.

Unfortunately I can not share my schematic on this website, but I can tell you that I used this MOSFET:
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=FDD6N50TM_WSCT-ND

Also, I connected the relay similar to this (minus the LED):
http://honeyrunapiaries.com/blog/2006/blog/honey-sticks/honey-stick-machine-part-2a/

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I really don't know the proper way to choose a MOSFET so I have a feeling I may have picked the wrong type or specifications.

I appreciate any feedback you guys can give me!

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

The main problem is that the gate voltage is to low to turn the mosfet on.
Can you post the schematic?

Attachments and Images

How do I attach a file to a post?
To attach a file to your post, you need to be using the main 'New Post' or 'New Thread' page and not 'Quick Reply'. To use the main 'New Post' page, click the 'Post Reply' button in the relevant thread.