Help requested on AC motor control project

legomyeggo

Joined Jun 18, 2009
Hi -

I'm an architect and structural engineer but very new to electrical and electronics - been reading a lot and hoping to learn more.

The project...

I've designed and built a custom staircase for a limited space situation in an aircraft hangar - to access the second floor loft area. The requirement was to not take up any of the first floor space. So, the staircase hinges at the first landing and the lower section (14 step strait run) is pulled up and down using a rope/pully system from the lower floor so it completely disappears against the ceiling when not in use.

The staircase has it's weight offset by a set of heavy duty springs (from a garage door) so there's very little weight to lift/lower. I haven't put a strain guage on it yet but I'd guess it's the equivalent of a 20-30 lb lift.

The goal...

I'd like to automate this raising and lowering of the staircase using an electric motor, wall switch (up/down/stop), with upper and lower limits to turn off the motor automatically when the stairs reach the floor when lowered and reach the ceiling when raised. So, I guess I'm looking to build something very similar to a garage door opener for the staircase.

So far, I've fashioned a spare 1hp 110v AC motor to a sprocket and hooked it to the stairs using aircraft cable. When I plug the motor in, it lifts the stairs quitely, evenly, and at a nice speed.