HELP replacing rivets - JCM900 SL-X

wolf1419

Joined Nov 1, 2008
Hi,
I tried this on the Marshall Forum, but didn't get much interest. I'm trying to remove some rivets on this amp to replace a broken top vent and they do not want to come out. They only go partway into the wood, so have no fastener or nut, etc. on the opposite side. Is there a trick to this......they are also the same rivets for the corners, hardware, etc......anybody have hands on experience with this.............:confused:

PRS

Joined Aug 24, 2008
I've got no experience with your particular problem. I'm sure you already know how to drill out ordinary rivets using a drill with a diameter the same as the outer "barrel" of the rivet -- by barrel I mean the part in the hole, not the part outside the hole, which is bigger. If these are special rivets that expand into the wood on each side of the hole, you still use a drill the size of the hole to remove them.

You need to center punch rivet before you drill it out. Get one that's really sharp and just tap it -- you don't want to damage the circuitry inside the amp! Also, figure out how deep the wood is -- you don't want to drill beyond it lest you damage something inside the cabinet! On a drill press, if you have one, set it for a depth that is shy of the thickness of the wood. If you don't have a press, tape around the drill bit near its tip and to the desired thickness. Drill all cabinet rivets, then remove the vent. Good luck!

Last edited:

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello Ron,

Is it possible to make a picture and place it on the forum?
Is the rivet now mounted in the wood part?

Greetings,
Bertus

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
PRS idea is good. Use a drill and a drill bit with a diameter less than the hole's diameter the rivet plugs in and your job will be done. Just drill the rivet in the center (on the small hole on it) and it will get out. Take care not to put the drill more than 10mm in because you may destroy the circuitry.

wolf1419