Help please-Switches

Darkpriestt

Joined Oct 2, 2008
I am a complete noob in electronics, i have not dabbled in it since school GCSE. I have a computer tower unit with a power button on the front.

What i want to do is this: when the power button on the front is pressed i want to have a DC motor connected to an arm Raise up and stop.

Not so hard that but the trick i cant get my head arround is this.

1 I dont want the circuit to power down if the button is re-pressed while the computer is on instead i want the circuit to run in reverse when the power is shutdown on the computer.

I thought perhaps the trick would be to find a line probably on the power button to motherboard where i could attach a circuit that would A if there is power go forwards (power arm circuit one way) and if there is no power there ie pc is turned off then it would Reverse circuit and shutdown.
I am also guessing here i would maybe need to use power from a spare molex cable so i think this would be 12volts.

Thanks in advance, Dave.

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
This might fit your requirements: 'listing some possible parts from All Electronics www.allelectronics.com Gear motor 6-12 V dc. 6 RPM ,Cat # DCM -24 S ; switch [ 2 ea ] SPDT, Cat # SMS-195 ; Relay to match PC,assuming 12V, Cat # 4PRLY-12, [ socket Cat # PRL-S ]. 4 pole relays easier to find than 3.

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
So that you can follow current path, I have re drawn figure; PG 1 shows PC off relay [RY] deenergised , contacts as shown. RY has 3 poles A, B. & C, with power off armatures are up[ moving contacts].D & E are NC push button switches. + to M+ rotates motorclockwise. - to M+ ,rotation counter clockwise,arm going down. Starting at A9 TO BE CONTINUED

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008