Help out a newbie just starting

Tecno

Joined Dec 3, 2006
Hi people,

I'm a newbie in electronics, I don't know how to read a schematic for a pcb or an electronics map, with all it's components and understand what I'm looking at...

Could someone point me out to some good books for newbies ?

Something that covers the following topics:
- PCBs: Schematics, Creating (home), Reading, Understanding, etc...
- Understanding Basic Electronics components and what they do...
- Soldering and De-Soldering electronic components on pcb's: ic's, smd's, etc...

I work alot with fixing computers and I also get alot of schematics for pc interfaces, so I could really use the knowledge...

Thanks for the help ! :)

Dave

Joined Nov 17, 2003
Start with the basics, do you understand circuit symbols?

Have a look at: All About Circuits - Volume V:Chapter 9

Understanding schematics is often down to experience and familiarity. Perhaps you could upload a copy of a schematic you are having issues with and we could walk you through it.

As for understanding electronic components well there are some of us here that have worked with electronics for many years and still don't understand basic components! The on-line textbook here at AAC is the ideal strating point for undrstanding basic components. Are there any components you have in mind? The basic building blocks that you could look at are:

-Resistors
-Capacitors
-Inductors
-Filters
-Diodes
-Transistiors (BJT, JFET and MOSFET)

The list goes on, but these are probably the best starting point. All of the above components are covered in detail in the All About Circuits textbook; use the search facility to look throughout the textbook.

I learnt to solder when I was an apprentice, so I did it all on-the-job. As a result I cannot recommend somewhere to look for information.

Dave

Tecno

Joined Dec 3, 2006
Thanks Dave :) Really apreciate the help.