help on powersupply

popto

Joined May 1, 2009
I built a variable power supply from a kit and it worked fine. I accidentally short circuited it for a while and if broke. I learned from the mistake and bought some insulated alligator clips so that the same thing won't happen again. But the problem is that my power supply is still broken. At first after it broke, it was putting out 34 volts and wouldn't change (it was supposed to work from 1.24-24 volts). Then I changed the two main transistors and another smaller one because they had all been really hot. That helped but now it is putting out 7 volts and changes a little bit when I turn the knobs but not much. What should I change next or what is the problem? Do I just have to do trial and error until I get the right part? I am a beginner and have know Idea what to do.:confused:

Attachments

Last edited:

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

Do you have the schematic of the powersupply?
This will give more information than the pictures you posted.

Greetings,
Bertus

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Look to the right of C3 on the board; it looks like a resistor has burned up. Hard to say which resistor it is from the photo, it may be R8 or R7.

popto

Joined May 1, 2009
it is definitely burned out. I will replace that and see if it works. you can see the resistor better in the picture than just looking at it because of the flash.

thanks.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
It is also entirely probable that T2, T3 or both have blown out and shorted.

You'll need to do a meter check of the transistors, as a minimum. If you have a transistor tester I'd use it.

Looking at the schematic I can't help noticing no fuse, which is a major design flaw. It is easy enough to fix however, you can get chassis mounted fuse holders and add it as an aftermarket item.

popto

Joined May 1, 2009