Help - needed - time delay relay - 12vdc

billy breach

Joined Jul 31, 2011
Hi All,

I’m new to working with electronics and I’m currently building a small project for a local war games centre.

This is what I need to happen:

12v DC power supply – this is turned on by a toggle switch – which then sends power to a Time Delay Relay ( a time of 5 minutes is needed) – after the 5 minute period the power is sent to a small 12v Buzzer – this is reset by turning the toggle switch off.

I need help with the delay relay, what type will I need? (Can any one suggest one to operate on 12v with low amps?)

I think it is an On Delay Relay I need? If so how would I wire this up with the pins? I.E input voltage goes where (to what pin number) and out put wires (that go to my buzzer) goes where etc?

And finally will I need another switch after the delay relay? Or will the time delay relay work as a switch and turn my buzzer on?

Any suggestions on the above would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Billy :)

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
You can do this all in electronic components much cheaper than using a relay if the only load is a buzzer.

Can you use pushbutton switches, one to start the timer and one to reset it?

billy breach

Joined Jul 31, 2011
I'm only going to use a buzzer to test it initially, however it may be a 12v car horn this was why I was thinking of using a relay? It may also take some led's to light it up also, not really that big a load tho.

Because several people will be using it I was thinking of just using a toggle or switch to turn it on (giving power to the timer relay) and when the buzzer goes off then just turn it off with the main switch again.

This will only be used once a game so if turning it off resets the timer delay this would be good enough.

thanks for the reply,

billy

iONic

Joined Nov 16, 2007