HELP ME PLEASE!!! 3-phase (confusion)

Avionicstech

Joined May 5, 2010
Hi,
So I'm studying for an upcoming exam and i am stuck.
I have to calculate the line currents in different 3 phase systems. So what i will do is i will just post the example that i am having trouble with and if anyone could help me by explaining what is happening mainly in finding the neutral current that would be hugely appreciated! I just dont understand where *=(3.464 - j2) + (-3.464 - j2) + (0 + j4)* is coming from what the hell is j2, j4 etc. Oh and just so you know I am not able to find it anywhere in my text!

thanks soo much
Avtech

Attachments

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
It would be of some concern that you appear to be unfamiliar with the rectangular form of a complex number. If you are about to do an exam, my expectation would be that you could routinely convert from polar to rectangular form - and vice versa. Most hand held scientific calculators provide this as a standard inbuilt function. Perhaps your text only uses the polar form of a complex number - which would be somewhat surprising.

Avionicstech

Joined May 5, 2010
Thanks for the help guys! not sure how im going to go. i think what you may be showing me is a little in depth to what i need to know as i am just an aircraft maintenance engineer.
If it helps in my syllabus for my exam it states for my topic on 3 phase systems:

• In relation to star and delta connected 3 phase systems, describe, and given sufficient data, calculate line and phase voltages and currents.

• Calculate power in a 3-phase system.

• Describe the advantages of star and delta 3-phase systems.
Thanks again for anymore assistance!

kompteck

Joined May 4, 2010
Ok well for part A they just found the current in each where V=I*Z

So, I = V/Z they divided the Voltage by the Impedance. They did it the shorthand way. I always convert to rectangular to do these types of problems.

j = i, j is used by engineers i is used my mathematicians cuz i is current to us.