Help me decompiling 80C188 program

Scaramanga

Joined Mar 24, 2013
First of All i would like to present myself:

- I am a Telecommunications Engineer who is starting to work as professional in the matter of MicroControllers and Microprocessors.

You have been recommended to me by a colleague because he says that you are the most experienced in what Microprocessors and Microontollers refers.

I have the next begginer question, and I thank your time:

- I have a program for AMD N80C188-120 written on two EPROM 27cL40, one is called "HIGH" and the other "LOW". I need to read that program and be able to decompile to a lenguage in which I can understand what the program does.

- What I have thought is:

1º) Read the two EPROMS (HIGH and LOW) with an EPROM reader. Once i have done this, how do i shuffle them?how do I compose the high and low to obtain the real program code?

2º)Once i have the program in binary file (read from the EPROMS), I need to use a dissasembler to translate it to assembler. ¿Could I use IDA PRO?I do not find the 80c188 as device to use in the disassembly, is there any other device which is compatible?¿Is there any tool or IDE to do this kind of exercise with AMD 80C188 processors?

3º)And the last thing, once I have the code in assembler, ¿Can i translate it to an Higher language like C?¿Which tool should I use for this achievement?

I have worked with PIC from Microchip and it is very easy because all the tools are into the IDE, the MPLAB ide, bur for this kind of processors (AMD 80C188) I havent found an specific IDE, ¿does it exist?

Thanks a lot

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
1. Yes

2. Maybe. Probably easier to just do it by "hand" using cut & paste or some other scripting technique.

3. Not a chance.

Scaramanga

Joined Mar 24, 2013
Thanks a lot ErnieM

I have the following doubts about your explanation: