help in repairing crt monitors

jecarts

Joined Feb 8, 2009
I am a technical support in one of the big hospital in our place. As of now we have lot of defective monitors. We are only two in IT department and i have only small knowledge of it because i am a newly grad. Some of the monitors are i think have a slight defect, and can be repaired but i don't know what are the hint or techniques what specific part or components will be replaced. Can anyone help me with this, can give me some diagrams or ebooks or anything else that can help me solve this problem??? Any reply will be appreciated... thanks.....!!!!!!!!!:):):)

jecarts

Joined Feb 8, 2009
Hello,

They are all CRT Monitors, some of them doesn't turn on, some the display will disappear when accidentally touch

Thanks a lot for the reply

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

When the display fails afther touching, there will be a lose contact somewhere.
Take a close look at the PCB and look for soldering placed that have gone dul with a lose wire in it.
When you found such spot solder it agian.

Greetings,
Bertus

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Please be aware that the CRT can hold a possibly lethal charge for hours after power is removed. That voltage must be discharged safely. One uses a thin screwdriver with a long shaft.

Clip a lead to the shaft near the handle and the other end of the lead to ground (circuit ground inside the monitor). Carefully slide the end of the screwdriver under the high voltage lead rubber cap and angle it downwards to contact the metal lead or the aquadag. After the initial pop, leave the screwdriver in place of several minutes to complete the discharge.

If your monitors are all the same, you may be able to make comparisons from a good one to one with a problem. What test equipment do you have? Just as important, what experience in electronic repair do you have?