Help in generating a big spark.

jorel000

Joined Jun 27, 2010
Hey all, I'm kinda new here and I'm also a noob when it comes to circuits. For our end of the term project, we're suppose to generate a spark from a 1.5 volt battery. The thing here is that we're supposed to use capacitors, inductors and resistors. The one who could generate the biggest spark would get an extra incentive for the final grade. So any of you can suggest how I can go through with the project? Thanks so much.

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
I'll assume you can switch the battery on and off?

Study up on Tesla coils and try to interpret the concept down to a simple single pulse for excitation.

davebee

Joined Oct 22, 2008
I would suspect that understanding Tesla coil operation would be too big of a step for a circuit noob.

jore1000, do you have the parts in front of you? Have you tried connecting one of the battery poles to one side of the inductor, then briefly brushing the other inductor wire across the other battery terminal?

If your fingers are also touching both inductor leads then you may get a little jolt, which should be a clue that if you allow current to flow through an inductor, then break that current flow, a large voltage will appear across the two inductor leads. Does that help?

jorel000

Joined Jun 27, 2010
Thanks for some of the suggestions guys.

But we're supposed to construct a simple circuit using just capacitors, inductors and resistors. It doesn't matter whether you just use capacitors or any combination of which as long as when you short the circuit, it would generate a spark. The longer the spark or the bigger, the higher my grade is.

I have an idea though, so if I like put several capacitors in parallel with the battery, then I try to short it, it would generate a spark right? So if that's the case, what can I do with an inductor to further increase the spark?

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008