Help connecting cap in series with battery using transistors please

warp

Joined Jan 20, 2014
Hi,
Im pretty new to electronics and i like to play around with little homemade motors and stuff.

I was needing to charge a cap and then switch it to the battery to discharge through the motor to give it extra pep if necessary. I used a tip3055 npn to charge the cap to 12V battery voltage ok, but when using the same type of transistor to connect the cap to the positive, with 12 volts on the base I couldnt get my 24 volts.?

Do I need to go to a transistor that can switch 24 volts with 12V or less on the base. If so can someone please recommend a suitable one, Also even though it is between the battery and the cap and they are on the high side of the motor coil, would I need pnp or p channel.?

I would probably prefer a bpj because they are cheap. I was reading about a buz71 that looked cheap enough would that do?

Thanks in advance.

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
A cap and one transistor cannot do what you want to do. I am only guessing because your description is not clear. Could you start with describing your goal.

Then show the schematic of what is not working - with a description.

It sounds to me like you plan to get double the voltage from a circuit just because you add a cap and a transistor to a circuit. And that the cap will be a able to increase the current. And you want to continuously run a motor of higher power than your battery can supply just because you add a cap.

Correct what is wrong with my paragraph or write your own.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
How long do you expect the capacitor to boost the motor voltage each time you switch the capacitor in series with the battery?