Help combining 2 555 circuits

webtracks

Joined Jun 14, 2011
Hi all, I'm new here and I hope someone could help me out with my problem combining to simple 555 circuits. Sorry but I have very little knowledge on electronics and am just learning (already burned a couple of components trying to solve the problem :D).

Anyway, I managed to get hold of a simple 555 alarm and a 2-tone siren (attached gif) from the web. Overall, the alarm (circuit A) should trigger the siren (circuit B). I was able to complete the circuit using a relay but have some questions.

1. Is there an alternative to using the relay like making use of a transistor?
2. Circuit A is triggered by a normally open switch (SW4), is it possible to modify the circuit and use normally closed switch as trigger?

Appreciate any help you can give me and thanks in advance.

Attachments

kkazem

Joined Jul 23, 2009
Although I probably wouldn't have designed the ckt the way you did, I'll ge glad to help you, but you've got to answer some Q's for me about the ckts or if you don't know, let me know that as well.
1) CKT-A: what is it's purpose, I don't understand? Is it simply a timer to start and then shut-off the siren after some seconds or minutes go by or does it have another function?
2) What's the specific purpose of SW3 in CKT-A. IS it simply sort of acting as an on-off switch or is it supposed to do something else?
Answers for you so far: