hello need some help please

ET3 Malone

Joined Dec 7, 2009
Hello to all. I am an electronics technician in the USN so i somewhat know what i am doing however i am having a little trouble with a circuit design and was hoping to find help.

What i am shooting for is i have 6 (10-12) led ribbons that i have installed into my car. What i want is to have them beat to my music. My original idea was to hook a microphone through a transformer to bias a transistor then just hook up a 12 volt source from emitter to collector through the led. Haven't actually tried it yet so far I have been using a java circuit sim and it seems ok i am just wandering what the math would be on the transformer and power to run all the leds off of one sensor circuit. thanks in advance for the help.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
What is the transformer for?
An electret mic can be amplified by an opamp or a transistor. A lowpass filter selects low frequency "beat" signals and rejects higher frequencies. It drives a peak detector circuit so that the peaks of sounds are stretched long enough to be seen. The peak detector drives a transistor or a Mosfet that turns on the LEDs.

ET3 Malone

Joined Dec 7, 2009